• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Biking La faba and O Cebreiro

gracie

Is there a road route for bicycles? I am not a professional cyclist so i am worried about that part as it is very heavy to push the bike on that incline.

€2,-/day will present your project to thousands of visitors each day. All interested in the Camino de Santiago.
Yes, there is a paved road all the way from say Las Herrerias that takes you to O'Cebreiro. It is steep, not easy, but also not heavily trafficked.

...and please pay attention to the left turn-off for walkers up the hill a bit from Las Herrerias - don't turn left - stay on the road! Last year I was walking with a wonderful Gallego when two bici-ists came up behind us -- CARRYING their bikes and looking a bit - well, take a look ~ ~ :(
Buen Camino!
Terry

Attachments

• IMG_1171.JPG
    IMG_1171.JPG
    292.7 KB · Views: 100
Ideal sleeping bag liner whether we want to add a thermal plus to our bag, or if we want to use it alone to sleep in shelters or hostels. Thanks to its mummy shape, it adapts perfectly to our body.

€46,-
Have just had a close look at the contours for this section of the Camino. Herrerias is around 705m and the elevation for OÇebreiro is 1300m so its almost a 600m climb in around 7-8km. That is quite a steep gradient for both walkers and cyclists. I might need more hill climbing training.

I have walked the bike route several times. Follow the CV 125/1 to Laguna de Castilla . Leaving Laguna after a welcome coffee at the bar/albergue there is a marked junction with the walking path. Continue on the left for the walking path or straight to follow the bike route. Both arrive at O Cebreiro.