• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Resource icon

THE PATH 2015-11-10

No permission to buy (€5.00)
I am a writer (4 published novels, TV including adaptation of Gormenghast) and I walked the Camino in 2009 because I decided I wanted some time to think about my life. I was just over sixty and had spent the preceding forty years racing around, trying to get work and/or commissions to earn myself a living. I needed some time to think about what I really wanted to write. Before I left I looked at what available literature there was on the Camino. There were plenty of guide books, and even more personal accounts (some very good) if the work, but none of them were really what i was looking for. I was after something that was personal but not literal. I was looking for poems, or novels, for literature. I only found one, “The Pilgrimage,” A great mystical novel by Paulo Coelho published in 1987. I enjoyed this very much and wanted more. I couldn’t find anything else like it. Maybe some of you will be able to help me here.