• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

3 Quick packing questions

TooManyRiceCakes

Time of past OR future Camino
really want that certificate!
Hello all!

Thanks to your help I have my rout and I have my bus tickets!
And now, I would really appreciate any advise for these questions about what to bring on the trail.

1) Should I being my official US passport, or will a photocopy be good enough? I have read that maybe benign the whole passport would be better, but I just want to make sure.

2) Trekking poles. While I am a undergrad college student, my knees are not the best ever, and I hear trekking poles can help people with knee issues avoid problems. Can I find some sticks on the trail and use that instead of paying a pair of poles?
I don’t want to buy them because of money (As a college student, I need to cut corners whenever I can)/space when I fly home back to the states.

3) My camera. I have a Cannon camera that is about 1.28 pounds/580 grams. I very much want to bring it, as photography is a big passion of mine. My question is: would any of you strongly advise against this? Are there other pilgrims that bring sizable cameras with them? If you think bringing it will not be a terrible mistake, I plan on leaving the charger at home to force me to be selective with it’s use, and to save weight.

Thank you!
I am so amazed and the speed and quality of the responses on this sight :)

Technical backpack for day trips with backpack cover and internal compartment for the hydration bladder. Ideal daypack for excursions where we need a medium capacity backpack. The back with Air Flow System creates large air channels that will keep our back as cool as possible.

€83,-
Hey there! Let me share my point of view!