• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

4 most beautiful days on Podiensis

Time of past OR future Camino
Frances 2022
Norte/Primitivo 2023
Hello fellow pilgrims
I am new to Ivars forum. Did CF earlier this year, planning Norte/Primitivo next year. But my big question regards Podiensis. I want to take my wife on a 3-4 day hike to give a feel for walking the Camino and I am looking for a pretty section, relatively easy to get to. I am considering starting in Arles Sur-le-dur and heading towards St Jean. What do you think?

Get a spanish phone number with Airalo. eSim, so no physical SIM card. Easy to use app to add more funds if needed.
Welcome!
I am considering starting in Arles Sur-le-dur and heading towards St Jean. What do you think?
While I enjoyed every stage of this camino, the ones after Aire-sur-l'Adour weren't near the top.

Here are the number of days it would take, on average, to walk between towns with train stations. Three days will be challenging ... but if you can pull five there are many more options! I've bolded the ones I'd recommend you consider.
  • Le Puy to Aumont-Aubrac (4 days)
  • Aumont-Aubrac to Decazeville (5 days to Conques, then taxi to Decazville)
  • Figeac to Cahors (5 days via the Célé variant)
  • Cahors to Moissac (3 days)
  • Moissac to Aire sur l'Adour (5 days)
  • Aire to SJPP (6 days)
The first would be great for feeling like you are part of a pilgrimage journey. A lot of people start from Le Puy, and there's a nice sense of community. But you might feel as if you've only just begun, and then it's time to end.