• Get your Camino Frances Guidebook here.
  • For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

a few questions before starting in late June

Time of past OR future Camino
June/July 2015 (CF, 100 miles), June/July 2018 (CP, ~40 miles, too hot!)
Hi all,

I have a few questions; answer all or any as you see fit and have experience. I so appreciate all the kindness and good, practical advice in this forum that I've been scouring for a few months. I've learned a lot, so thank you already for all you've done.

1) I'll be on the Camino starting in Leon from about June 23 to July 23. I'm 47, overweight, but very active, and pretty fit, having lost 146 pounds over the years. I lift weights three to five times a week, play petanque once to three times a week, occasionally swim, occasionally kayak and am a beginning archer, and aim for 10k steps every day. Any rough estimate on how long it might take me to complete 205 miles from Leon to SdC? I have knee issues, so I'm a bit of a slow walker, but I persevere and have really good endurance.

2) Will I need a jacket or layers even in summer? I tend to be hot-natured, and definitely want to keep my backpack to 10 pounds or so. So far I have two sets of clothes, but was wondering if I should bring a jacket, or a tank top or a fleece jacket. How cold does it get in the mornings and at night? I live in California, so I'm used to layering for desert weather: cold in the mornings and night, warm to downright hot in the middle of the day.

3) I've got a sleeping bag liner, but is it worth it to bring a flat sheet also? Again, limiting backpack weight and unnecessary extras is a prime consideration. But I hate sleeping hot!