• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

A Tigger Tip - a lacing lesson

T

Tigger

I know I am a newbie, but I have just learned a very good lesson which I would like to share.

Shoes that lace...I don't care what kind...

when you go into a shop or try them at home, COMPLETELY undo all the laces ( not take them out just loosen them right down to the bottom (especially the bottom) and put your foot first into a completely open shoe, for an initial judging of length and width.

THEN start to lace them.

I had previously fallen into the trap of only unlacing enough to put my foot in and on some shoes this meant I thought them too narrow. This is especially true if your shoes, like my Merrell Moabs and some of the light weight shoes have soft uppers. I noticed that the uppers were creased in this area, under the laces, being laced too tight and no wonder they seemed too narrow They were factory laced quite tight and although initially comfortable I was having toe room issues. Imagine my delight when I unlaced the shoe to almost bare and relaced them properly. They now fit perfectly and I saved myself the expense of possibly getting another shoe that was going to be too wide for me OR repeating the error, just through this simple measure. It also means I can lace the centre and upper laces tighter to stop my foot moving into the toe for downhills. I really am simple and stupid sometimes!

The 9th edition the Lightfoot Guide will let you complete the journey your way.
Thank you for this information. It will be of great benefit to me. Nice post, Tigger

The focus is on reducing the risk of failure through being well prepared. 2nd ed.