• Get your Camino Frances Guidebook here.
  • For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Advice for the Traveling Photographer

Anakasha

I have at this point read through a number of forums and books on the Camino and understand the importance of traveling light. Therein lies the rub. As a professional photographer I come with baggage even when paired down to two lenses and one body. Also, I am relegated to carrying a computer of some sort to download on a daily basis.
Because of this I have to keep my personal items at a minimum.
Does anyone have advice on having small care packages shipped to the post offices along the way and where to get the information on their mailing addresses?
Also, as I've read that plugs for charging these items are at a minimum has anyone used the solar chargers and which are the most effective for something like camera batteries and computer?

A guide to speaking Spanish on the Camino - enrich your pilgrim experience.
I understand your dilemma. My husband is also a professional photographer who walked the camino with his gear and laptop. Plugging in wasn't too difficult. When we got to Spain we bought a double plug so even if the plug near our bed was full, we could simply unplug the other item and plug both into the double plug. You can also strategically choose your spot in a cafe/restaurant and charge while you have a coffee or meal as well.

We do have a small solar charger but didn't bring it on the camino. It has worked for us to charge cell phones and iPods but is not very effective with larger items like camera batteries and laptops.

So we were not packing very light, but enjoyed taking some marvelous photos that made it all worth it.