• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Advice needed for first-time camino

Bianca

Time of past OR future Camino
Hopefully July 2015!
Hi everyone!

I was thinking about walking the Camino del Norte in July.
However... I just started playing with this idea a few days ago. It's been a dream of mine for years but I've forgotten it for a while, I didn't have money/time etc...
My workplace is closing down end of June. I have no idea what to do next, and a friend suggested I finally realize this dream of mine :)

Which all sounds great, but I can't really prepare at all. I would have two weeks max to buy equipment (walking shoes and a decent backpack), so won't really have time to break in my shoes. I'm not exactly in the best shape either and also overweight. Plus I'll still be working a lot till the end of the month, I could probably make it out in the weekends but there won't really be any opportunities for long hikes on a regular basis.

Do you think it's still possible? I realize it probably won't be easy, but I'm hoping it should get better after the first week or so... Plus, everything I seem to read about this camino makes it sound like most stages are 30+km apart. Is it possible to do it in smaller stages? I can't really see myself walking 35km daily in the beginning. I'm guessing there is always private accommodation to be found somewhere in between the stages?

I know the camino Frances is also an option, but I deal with so many people in my daily job, I'm not sure if I would be able to deal with the seemingly hordes of people there (especially in July I suppose). I would love to have some peace and quiet if possible. Apart from that I've visited the north of Spain before and I love it!