• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Altus Poncho - How Long Should It Be?

High Endeavours

Time of past OR future Camino
CF 13
VdlP 14
LePuy 15
Invierno DosFaros CP 16
88 Templ Japan 17
Sicily Arles-Santiago 18
Norte 19
Perhaps a seemingly silly question? I've lots of experience with an Altus Poncho having researched the Forum prior to my first Camino in 2013 and a fan. I'm just under 6' tall (1.8 metres) and purchased an Altus Atmospheric, lime green (called it Margarita:D). It came to just below the top of my knees. A key point is that we had no rain prior to my Camino so I couldn't test it prior to departure as I would typically do. What I discovered in Spain during 12 days of rain is that the wind would lift it slightly and with normal walking motion my shorts would get wet. I rolled the short legs up, but it wasn't very convenient and not always successful.

This poncho was damaged and began to delaminate on the Le Puy route last year. When I returned home I began a search for a new Altus. Strangely difficult to come by, but eventually I was able to source several for myself and a few other folks in our local Camino Chapter. They have changed the lengths of the new ponchos compared to my older model with the front now 2" longer and the back hanging even lower. The Medium/Large comes almost to the bottom of my knees. The XL size hangs down further to almost half way between knees and ankles. How far should it hang dawn?