• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

American family coming in July 2019 (trying to balance walking and family)

Trevor Johnson

Time of past OR future Camino
Trying to plan a trip.
Hello,

This is my first post. Sorry for the long introduction, but let me paint a picture for you of my motivations. Maybe somebody with familiarity of the Camino will be kind enough to read this all and offer me advice from experience.

We are an American family currently living among a jungle tribe in Papua, Indonesia (the left side of the island of New Guinea). I am a Protestant pastor and we've helped open a school and health clinic in our region.

We will return to the USA via Europe next summer to visit (and rest, this life is very difficult).

I would like to hike the Camino during our three weeks in Europe on the way home. I speak no Spanish at all.

Since we live remotely in a difficult setting I don't really want to "rough it" in Europe. I'd like to hike the Camino, as far as possible. I enjoy hiking and jogging. During the days I'd like to hike and jog the Camino. But at nights I want to spend time with my family and not sleep in a place with a bunch of strangers.

My reasons for hiking the Camino are:

(1) I am a fan of music from Medieval Europe, in particular the pilgrim songs, such as the Llibre Vermell di Montserrat (The Red Book of Montseerat), the pilgrim songs.
(2) I love to hike and love nature and want to do it for health.
(3) I would an official pilgrim certificate if I am able to do so as a Protestant.
(4) I want some quiet time walking with good views of nature (mountains, etc).
(5) I'd like to spend some time hiking with my son.
(6) We also want a relaxing family vacation.

Here are my preferences: