• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Anyone need footwear/foot advice?

gregdedman

Hi all,

I'm not quite sure why I havn't thought of this before but better late than never!

I'm a veteran of one Camino Frances in summer, one in winter. A Camino Muxia, a Camino Finistere and finally, imminently a Camino Catalan. When I'm not walking the Camino, I lead hikes in the mountains. When I'm not doing that, I work in an outdoor store in the UK fitting boots and socks all day long.

Having learnt what usually works when it comes to footwear combinations I can offer any advice, in the build up to 'Camino season', to those pondering on what to buy and how to make it all work.
There are lots of little tricks you can use to lace boots, deal with changes of temperatures during your walking day, how to prevent 'hot-spots' developing into blisters, taking space out of a pair of boots without compromising the fit, how best to layer your socks and what fabrics are best for different seasons.

Feel free to fire away :)
Buen Camino
Greg

Ideal sleeping bag liner whether we want to add a thermal plus to our bag, or if we want to use it alone to sleep in shelters or hostels. Thanks to its mummy shape, it adapts perfectly to our body.

€46,-
From days of lurking, i think that almost EVERYONE has questions about feet! Ha!

Here's my question:

What's the best way to strengthen ankles well before the camino? Is lots of walking enough, or are there specific exercises that will make things easier later on?