• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Better safe than sorry

MeandIan

Time of past OR future Camino
May2018
In sharing this I think of all those people who have had to cancel, postpone or interrupt their Camino.
Three weeks ago we went to emergency department because Ian had chest pain. After blood tests and ECGs and repeated tests they couldn’t find anything and, because he had had a cold just before thought it was costochondritis. I thought it was pericarditis. But to be sure to be sure he was sent for a stress test. They found a ‘squiggle’ on the ECG so he was referred to a cardiologist. He saw the cardiologist Wednesday who booked him for an angiogram with possible stent depending on what they find. As an anaesthetic nurse I have been involved in many procedures and appreciate the risks. His surgery date is 26 April, our departure date is 29 April. Obviously we have to delay our plans.
Ian and I have always been pragmatic and would rather wait. We are grateful that it was diagnosed and treated before we left than after we started. And also we will now be in a controlled environment. If we are unable to leave by the end of May then we will go in September. The walk will always be there, the Camino is in each of us. I am reminded of my mother who always says ‘life is filled with disappointments, change and challenges. It’s not the fact that you face it that matters, it’s how you deal with it that defines you’.
So Buen Camino to everyone walking, to those whom we might have met and to those whom we now shall meet.

The one from Galicia (the round) and the one from Castilla & Leon. Individually numbered and made by the same people that make the ones you see on your walk.
I wish you both all the best. May your camino be fantastic.