• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Bit of help needed

Decci81

Time of past OR future Camino
Portugal
Hey there,it's my first time trying this but I did the walk from Sarria last year in early April with two friends and were planning to do a similar length in late April this year,unfortunately I get to do all the planning for stops/distance. We enjoy the 25/30km walk but enjoy a pint after,I was hoping someone could help me with where to start or destinations on way on the Portuguese way

Down bag (90/10 duvet) of 700 fills with 180 g (6.34 ounces) of filling. Mummy-shaped structure, ideal when you are looking for lightness with great heating performance.

€149,-
If you want to only qualify for the the Compostela you can start in Valenca/Tui, two lovely small towns, separated by a river, the first in Portugal, the other in Spain. For that you are looking at 5 or 6 stages depending on how you chose to break off the distance.

There is also the Variante espititual which ads a daay but includes a boat ride.

I would recommend you buy the latest edition of Brierly's Guide to the Portuguese and take it from there. In the 2016 edition he does not talk about the Variante, but every albergue seems to have flyers about it. You decide to take it or not upon leaving Pontevedra.

And if you buy the book from the forum you will get a free credencial. Pay for an extra two for your friends and you're set.

Idem like Anemone says ! And walking into Santiago from the Portugues is so much nicer and greener than the walk from the Frances.

3rd Edition. More content, training & pack guides avoid common mistakes, bed bugs etc