• Get your Camino Frances Guidebook here.
  • For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Booking ahead and boot panic attack

Hugh Byrne

Time of past OR future Camino
Sarria to Santiago
I'm a Camino amateur, never having attempted the way before so excuse my simple questions. My wife and I plan to arrive in each place and book beds in dormitories on arrival. We begin our camino on Sunday morning next the 30th Oct in Sarria, heading for Santiago. Is this a wise course of action, not booking ahead, and will there be spaces available do you good people think? Also after a dark night of fear last night I have opted to stick with my leather boots, worn in but heavy, too late to introduce my feet to new footwear I imagine, I'm wearing them to work each day now to re introduce my feet to the boots, am I crazy? too many questions maybe so I'll stop. Buen Camino :)

Ideal pocket guides for during & after your Camino. Each weighs only 1.4 oz (40g)!
In November/very end of October you will do just fine with not booking ahead. If your boots are comfy and as we are going towards winter, you will do fine also with that. All will work out as it has for hundreds of thousands of other pilgrims. Buen Camino, SY

I finished walking the Camino Frances last week. There was no great pressure on albergue beds in the last couple of weeks. As for boots - I wear leather safety boots on my long distance walks and love them. In my opinion any extra weight is more than justified by the protection of toes, soles and ankles on some pretty rough surfaces. Sum total of one insignificant blister in nearly 800km of walking. If you know that your boots fit well and are comfortable then I would stick with them.