• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Bus/taxi services along the Coastal Route

Piscesman1946

Time of past OR future Camino
Portugués (Oct 2019)
I am a newbie and will be walking the CP from Porto to Valenca along the Coastal Route in October. I am 73 and in good shape...and I am expecting blue skies and gentle breezes all the way...but should some ill-health or weather beset me, I was wondering if there are buses or taxis between towns should I find myself falling behind? Thanks!

Ideal sleeping bag liner whether we want to add a thermal plus to our bag, or if we want to use it alone to sleep in shelters or hostels. Thanks to its mummy shape, it adapts perfectly to our body.

€46,-
I walked from Porto to Santiago last year and taxis are readily available. So are buses but not on all segments. I actually look at each planned segment and then do a room2rio website lookup to see what my options are. Some of the segments many even have local railroad to choose from. Either way it shouldn't be too much of a problem.

Ideal sleeping bag liner whether we want to add a thermal plus to our bag, or if we want to use it alone to sleep in shelters or hostels. Thanks to its mummy shape, it adapts perfectly to our body.

€46,-
Thanks for watching my amateur attempts. I'm headed to walk the first part of the Camino de la Plata (Seville to Salamanca) tomorrow so I'll be posting the first 25 days or so when I get back (postings sometime in June/July).

I use Rome2rio all the time but hadn’t thought to use it on such a small scale! Duh! Bus and/or train on all my segments. Buen camino!

Last edited:
The coastal caminho offers a variety of public transport inside Porto City, e.g. the Metro to Matosinhos.