• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Butterflies in Porto

drawstring

Time of past OR future Camino
Portuguese coastal 2016
I just got my passport here and plan to take the metro tomorrow to Vila do Conde and then up the coast. I feel I haven't done enough prep and I'm anxious about the route, accommodation, loneliness and weather etc. Its my first time doing anything like this. Pack is 6 kg so it should be manageable I think. Fingers crossed!
Alan

Technical backpack for day trips with backpack cover and internal compartment for the hydration bladder. Ideal daypack for excursions where we need a medium capacity backpack. The back with Air Flow System creates large air channels that will keep our back as cool as possible.

€83,-
Join our full-service guided tour and let us convert you into a Pampered Pilgrim!
I guess the idea of too many 20+ km days is worrisome too.

Give your body a chance by walking slow and short at the beginning. Listen to your body and rest when needed. It will soon build up to 20km if you take it easy at first. Just walk how you feel. It took me a while to figure out I was walking too fast in the beginning. By the end 30km was ok, but I still preferred 2o! And some days I walked 4km!

Davey

I guess the idea of too many 20+ km days is worrisome too.
So, when you are nearing 20ks done for the day start asking for accommodation, at bars, tourist offices, churches, cafes, where-ever. You'll quickly get over your apprehension at what you first envisage is a bold approach.
Everyone tells us what wonderful helpful folk the Portugese are.
Good travelling.
Gerard