• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Camino and economics

Maggiejane

Has the current economic situation in Europe affected the Camino? If yes, in what ways? Perhaps those of you who are veterans or those who have walked some years ago and recently would like to comment.

A selection of Camino Jewellery
Hi Maggie
I have been walking on the many Camino since 2009 and have seen very little change apart from the increase in numbers,the alburgue's in Galicia have gone up from 3euros to 5. :shock:
the camino has been going a few years now and will continue to do so.
there are signs everwhere of misspent European funds ie road construction-inprovements?? to the camino ect,but life goes on,I have found that the small village shops tend not to bother with tills or receipts ( no tax)which may explain partly the mess they are in,but we all live in economy's that rely heavily on debt to have that magic 3% growth each year (buy that house-car-ect) its all a matter of perspective ie how is America coping with its 3 trillion debt and its economic downgrading?,I cancelled a trip to your country this year( Alberta) because of economics (my own) so expensive and they charge you each day you walk in a national park!!plus their full of bears,cougers and tics aren't they?
Spain is still one of the cheapest place's to eat,drink and sleep in Europe and the Camino is still the Camino,a place to walk and forget the Worlds and my own problems and just be, ommmmmmmmmmm
I believe you walk your own Camino soon,trust me the last thing on your mind will be the economic situation in Europe.
buen camino
Ian