• Get your Camino Frances Guidebook here.
  • For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Camino Frances for 20 days...

biancadaze

I have been trying to plan my trip with consideration to school and work. Unfortunately I work full time and will only be able to take off 20 days; I am also a college student and would like to leave as soon as finals are over, sometime at the end of May, which I'm sure will be pretty busy, but that's no problem.

My main concern is in terms of where to start. I would love to start from the very beginning of SJPP, but I don't want to rush myself to the point where I miss so much of the experience, so I'd like to know if anyone has any ideas as to what a good starting point somewhere along the way of the Camino Frances that would allow me 20 days of proper walking; not too relaxed, not too rushed, so I can make it to Santiago de Compostela and be home on time. I'm not sure if this is a silly request.. If anyone happens to have any suggestions, I would truly appreciate it.

Also, in regards to tents, would it make sense to carry a small one person tent? I imagine the hostels may be somewhat crowded. Has anyone had negative experiences in terms of finding a place to settle down (tent) or any unhappy locals unwilling to permit tenting?

I was considering postponing my trip, but something about the time just feels right and for some reason I am unable to wrap my mind around traveling elsewhere, so if I must go for a shortened period of time then I'd like to try and make it work, regardless of the crowd or time allocated.

Well, thank you for your help in advance,
Bianca.