• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Camino Ingles walk 17-21 June 2015 . . . m

irishmancamino

Time of past OR future Camino
Summer 2013
Hello everyone,

Just wanted to share my thoughts and experiences having just completed walking the Camino Ingles yesterday.

I arrived into Ferrol on 16th June, left walking the following morning of the 17th and arrived into Santiago yesterday, June 21st.

I previously walked the Camino Frances (and Finisterre) in 2013, the Camino Portuguese in 2014 (and Muxia), so I've had a lot of experience behind me for the Ingles.

I used the invaluable Johnnie Walker CSJ Camino Ingles guide to guide me through the walk.

I will give a general breakdown of the five days, then I'll give my own impressions of the towns and highlights/lowlights/recommendations of the Ingles at the end.

Day One - Ferrol to Pontedeume

This was a long first day. Left Ferrol early in the morning knowing this. Went to look for the starting point the previous evening, down by the port. The construction site is still in operation, you'll have to look for the starting waymark outside a row of cafes.

Walker's guide is very clear on leading you out of Ferrol, yet it's important to stay alert yourself as there are several 'new' construction site areas that can confuse.

Nice leisurely walk through Naron, Neda, Fene.

I began to get a jaded as I was approaching Pontedueme, mainly due to an ongoing ascent and descent into the town. This tiredness was mainly due to the heat, as it turned out Galicia was beginning to get a heatwave.

Eventually arrived into Pontedueme, crossing the lovely bridge into the town.

Day Two - Pontedeume to Betanzos