• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Camino Portugues in February, 21 days

Katjadk

Time of past OR future Camino
Caminho Centra Portugues (2015, February)
Dear Forum

I just stumbled upon this amazing forum, and it seems like the greatest collection of knowledge on the camino that one could wish for.

I have a wish to walk to santiago on the portuguese route in February for 21 days.
I have never done a walking tour like this before, and I have very limited knowledge about the camino and the route in general.
I am really hoping that there are some friendly souls out there that can provide me some insights into this subject. I have some questions:

1. Does anyone have suggestions for aroute that would be possible to do within 21 days?
2. Does anyone have experience of walking this route in February with regards to weather?
3. Does anyone have experience with how easy it is to find albergues along the way on February? and also how expensive they are?
4. Also I am a bit nervous that we will have a hard time stocking up on food along the way, does anyone have some insight in how many shops one could encounter along the way?

Any input that you might have for a newbie would be very much appreciated!

All my best wishes to all of you pilgrims out there!

Get a spanish phone number with Airalo. eSim, so no physical SIM card. Easy to use app to add more funds if needed.
Katja welcome on this forum.

The caminho Portugues has different places to start from.
One is Lisbon. To Santiago about 650 kms which takes there in about 4 till 5 weeks walking, depending on how many kms per day you walk .

The other one is from Porto about 250 kms to Santiago, doable in about 2 weeks