Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Camino Primitivo in March/April 2016

Ekelund

Time of past OR future Camino
“It’s your road, and yours alone. Others may walk it with you, but no one can walk it for you.” Rumi
I'm thinking of walking the Camino Primitivo starting in Oviedo in March 2016.
I wondering if there will be snow on the trail? In the mountains? Living in Denmark, I don't mind walking in snow but I have no experience finding my way on a trail covered in snow. It could be hard to see the yellow arrows.

Any of the members of the Forum who can help with advice? It is hard to predict the weather so I want to be prepared for anything.

The one from Galicia (the round) and the one from Castilla & Leon. Individually numbered and made by the same people that make the ones you see on your walk.
Greetings Ekelund! I can't really help with your question [how's that for a silly start?] however, I can give you some information about Oviedo in March:
Average High Temp = 15 deg
Average Low temp = 6 degs.
Average sun: 5 hours a day.
Average snow days: zero.
Average rainy days: 13.
I fully realise that doesn't help with the mountain passes, but it may just give you an overall impression.
It's my plan to walk the Primitivo in May.
Buen camino, amigo!

Depending on the severity of the winter there could be snow at the higher altitudes. However if you have the CSJ guide to the Primitivo (Los Caminos del Norte: F Camino Primitivo) it gives alternatives for when the weather is bad. This actually means walking the road in places and not going over Hospitales. Over Puerto de Palo there are snow poles along the road - also useful in fog. The online guides do not have so much information but are useful to add in to the paper guide, particularly Gronze - Camino Primitivo
If the winter is mild then you may have clear weather all the way.....
Buen Camino

The 9th edition the Lightfoot Guide will let you complete the journey your way.