• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Camino vs. Other long distance paths

urukrama

I have walked quite a bit on various long distance trails (GRs) in France. Though I have been attracted by the Camino Frances and other pilgrim routes, I've never walked any part of it. I keep playing with the idea of walking the whole way one day, but several things keep me back (mainly the crowds) and always make me choose for another walk.

Reading about others' experiences of the Camino, there is a lot that I recognise from my own long distance walks -- the physical struggles, the solitude, the peace, the different stages one goes through week after week, etc. --, but also a lot that I have no experience of -- the sheer number of pilgrims, the refugios and their pleasant and unpleasant sides, the strong camaraderie many pilgrims talk of, etc.

How, and to what extent, is the Camino different from any other long distance path? Is there a difference, practically speaking? Is there a difference for you emotionally/intellectually, i.e. does the fact that this is the Camino, that has been walked by so many before, have a big impact on you that is absent in other long distance walks?

My question is obviously mainly aimed at those that have experienced (any of) the Camino(s) as well as non-pilgrim long distance paths (in Europe or elsewhere), but any comments are really appreciated. :)

(If this is posted in the wrong subforum, please move it along moderators! I didn't really know where to post this.)

€2,-/day will present your project to thousands of visitors each day. All interested in the Camino de Santiago.
For me, it feels safer than any trek I could take in the United States.