• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Camping in France & Spain

biloute

Time of past OR future Camino
Chemin du Puy & Camino Francés (summer 2014), Chemin du Puy & Camino Francés (possible summer 2019)
This will be my first camino. I've been doing a lot of research and have figured some things out, but I've also come up with more questions. I've never done a long-distance hike before, but I am determined to make it from Le Puy to Santiago summer 2014. I don't have a big budget, and since the trip will take at least 2 months, I want to save as much as possible. I know the Spanish section has lots of albergues for pretty cheap (5-10€) but I've been looking at accommodations along the Chemin du Puy and they're a little more expensive, and a few places I've seen prices starting at 30-40€ per night (according to www.chemindecompostelle.com). I'm considering camping and was wondering if anyone has experience doing this, both in France and Spain. One gîte I noticed offered camping, which cost significantly less. Also, as I understand it, summer is pretty busy and it might be difficult finding accommodation. Does the Miam Miam Dodo guide have camping options? What about camping in Spain?

St James' Way - Self-guided 4-7 day Walking Packages, Reading to Southampton, 110 kms
What about camping in Spain?