• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Caution needed outside Astorga

Join our full-service guided tour of the Basque Country and let us pamper you!
Hi, I am nowhere near good enough at Spanish to read and understand this properly. Could you please rephrase the main points in English for us who can't read it ourselves? Just a couple of sentences. I am a translator and don't trust Google translate any further than I can throw my entire house :D If you could I would be very grateful.

Thanks,
Linda

Hi, I am nowhere near good enough at Spanish to read and understand this properly. Could you please rephrase the main points in English for us who can't read it ourselves? Just a couple of sentences. I am a translator and don't trust Google translate any further than I can throw my entire house :D If you could I would be very grateful.

Thanks,
Linda

There was an incident Saturday 16 May involving two men who apparently tried to kidnap a 50 year old local woman near Santa Catalina de Somoza - about 10 km west of Astorga. The woman escaped by running then hiding from the men.

There is speculation of intent being either rape or robbery.

The woman stated the men spoke in a foreign tongue ... probably eastern european. She didn't get a good look at the driver because he was wearing a hoodie.

There are suggestions, but no proof, that the missing pilgrim Denise Thiem may have had an encounter with the same men.

A guide to speaking Spanish on the Camino - enrich your pilgrim experience.
Last edited by a moderator:
Get a spanish phone number with Airalo. eSim, so no physical SIM card. Easy to use app to add more funds if needed.
Caution needed everywhere: robbery with knives, flashers, a pilgrim who has disappeared . . . scary. People don't disappear here in Santa Barbara.