• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Cycling From Ponferrada to Santiago

tomlee

Time of past OR future Camino
new comer..
- Wish to start from Camino dE Norte @ 2015 July
Hi all,

This is my first time prepare for the trip since last year....
so far i had done some homework on this trip, i would like to share my info before asking question..

Day 0 - Madrid (4pm) ---driving--- Ponferrada (10pm)
Day 1 - Ponferrada to O Cebreiro (47.4km)
Day 2 - Cebreiro to Portomarin (60.4km)
Day 3 - Portomarin to Arzua (52.7km)
Day 4 - Arzua to Santiago (37.4km)

TOTAL : GOOGLE MAP measure by WALK 198km/ measure by Car Road 234km

I will reach Ponferrada at about 10am, and i had read some of the forum reply said that i not able to get Pilgrim Passport..and i have to get it on next day morning.

- so, what time is the albergue or the cathedral open to issue the Pilgrim Passport next day morning?

- May i know where can i find info of the albergue or the cathedral along the way (O Cebreiro, Portomarin, Arzua,Santiago) to get the stamp?

- For this Cycling trip, Car Road or Rural road is allow? or prefer or authorize?

- For this Cycling trip, i had measure the distant using Google map by Walk, and it is about 198km. BUT using Google map by Car Road (if allow, may be using car road to cycle) is about 234km. So, where can find the actual measurement info and to qualify 200km by bike?

and thanks very much ....

Tom

The one from Galicia (the round) and the one from Castilla & Leon. Individually numbered and made by the same people that make the ones you see on your walk.
Tom,
In Ponferrada the albergue San Nicolas de Flue, calle de la Loma, opens mid afternoon and stays open until 22:30. You can get your Credencial then. They are also open from 06:30 to 08:00 in the morning.

Buen camino!

MM

Last edited:
Tom,