• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Cycling Le Puy Route

MywaySA

Hi all, a friend and I have on short notice decided to cycle this route. From what I can find out from reading blogs and websites it seems the cyclist stick to the roads and does not cycle the actual walking paths. Is it possible to cycle the walking paths with a mountain bike at all?

My friend did the Camino Frances on foot some years ago and wants to do a different part of the route and I am new to this. We both love cycling and also have a time limit.

That said, we would prefer to be on the "real route" instead of cycling on tar roads close by.

Can anybody help with this please?

Ideal pocket guides for during & after your Camino. Each weighs only 1.4 oz (40g)!
Myway, I did encounter cyclist pilgrims on the Le Puy route, but rarely on the actual trail. The Miam Miam Dodo guide more or less calls it a bad idea to attempt the walking trail with any bike, but does give a reference to this site: http://perso.orange.fr/vtt.compostelle

You'll note in the left hand column of that site's main page that there are suggested routes from Vezelay and Cahors which end in Ostabat and Roncevaux, respectively. If you are interested but have trouble with the French, let me know and I'll check them out.
http://vtt.compostelle.pagesperso-orange.fr/accueil.htm

Best

Rob

Hi Rob,

thanks for the info but the French website "had me at hello". Anyway, we have decided to stick to country roads and bicycle lanes as per blogs and journals of other cyclists experience. Offroad is going to be more tricky with panniers etc and having to constantly ask walkers to move out of the way is just not going to be pleasant for both parties.

Thanks again for your help.