• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Cycling Route for 16 folding bike

jcatienza

Time of past OR future Camino
Frances March 2012
Frances April 2015
Hello.

I would like some advice for a 200km route/itinerary to Santiago de Compostela that is doable for a 16 inch folding bicycle (preferably the walkers' path).

I would like to walk the whole camino someday but it is my first time (also alone & unsupported) and I am from Asia so I am a bit worried.

I am also diabetic so I am thinking of using a bicycle instead of walking in case of emergencies.

Thank you.

Technical backpack for day trips with backpack cover and internal compartment for the hydration bladder. Ideal daypack for excursions where we need a medium capacity backpack. The back with Air Flow System creates large air channels that will keep our back as cool as possible.

€83,-
I have not ridden a folding bicycle with 16" wheels, but I can think of a lot of parts of the camino that would not be suitable for it. Roads parallel the route in all cases, so you can probably stick to paving when necessary. I notice that the folding bike does not provide for much cargo even in panniers. Cycling with a load on your shoulders may be very tiring. Only you know if you have experience in this.

When walking the last 200 km, you will always be within shouting distance of another pilgrim, so the use of a bicycle for safety probably is not necessary.

Well, much of the last 200 km would be possible on a folding bike, but it would not be my choice. I guess you want to take a folding bike because of the airlines. You'll probably still be stuck with baggage fees which will equal the cost of one of the rental bikes. Various companies will shuttle a bike out to your starting point.