• Get your Camino Frances Guidebook here.
  • For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Early planning and some questions

jo webber

Time of past OR future Camino
Sept 9th 2017
Hello everyone. This forum has been so much help already, I have read and read and read.

We plan on walking next year in Sept and Oct. I have no experience hiking with a pack, lots of hikes and camping but no back pack. Now I have my pack, Osprey Mira 34L which is great and fits well. My hiking sandals are getting broken in with no issues. And because I am excited most of my gear has been purchased. Now, once the weather cools I can begin practice hikes.

My thinking is to walk without a pack until I can do 10 miles easily, then wear the pack and gradually increase the weight. Total weight is 13 lbs. without water or food. I weigh 108 lbs. To complicate matters I have compressed disks and a bit of scoliosis in my spine. And a pinched sciatic nerve. So training is very important. Do you think this would work well? Oh, I will be 63 yrs old when we head out.

Here are the items in my pack.
pack & 2 wash cloths for padding 40 oz

clothes packed 32 oz
pants
long sleeve shirt
sports bra
socks
heavy panty hose
extra socks (1)

warm stuff packed 20 oz
long sleeve shirt
socks
heavy pantie hose
silk scarf
beany hat to keep ears warm
light merino wool sweater
heavy wool sweater
gloves

bathroom kit, full 16 oz
toothpaste
tooth brush
deodorant
soap for everything
nail file/ clippers
lava rock for feet
towel
dipper pins
cord for clothes line

sunglasses +
meds +
cap, rain coat. Shovel, TP 13 oz

sleeping stuff, in dry sack 32 oz
sheet, silk liner
blanket, fleece bag liner
ear plugs,
caftan for shower curtain & sleep wear (could also wear out)