• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Easter Week-Booking ahead-Via de la Plata, Merida?

unadara

Time of past OR future Camino
2013 CF then a few more. Plan May 24 Primitivo
Hi Everyone
I have no experience of walking in this busy period. Are Refugio beds kept for Pilgrims only and if there are many Spanish walkers? do they book ahead, can you book ahead for Municipal Alberques. If I am going to be in Merida semana santa should I anticipate and book a bed in advance or take a chance I'll get 1 of only 6 pilgrim beds on offer. I had hoped to see how I managed with the distances first before knowing where I might be on days of week before Easter, any advice welcome?.
Thanks
UnaDara
I leave Seville 9th Apr so have 8 days walking before Holy Thursday.

The focus is on reducing the risk of failure through being well prepared. 2nd ed.
Mérida's important holy week celebrations draw people in from all over and most hotels are likely to be full. In theory you can't book an albergue so you will just have to hope for the best. I think there are 18 beds in Mérida's albergue, so my guess is you'll probably be OK.

You should have a pretty good idea of how many other pilgrims you will be competing with for the beds in Mérida depending on how many others you see en route. I took 7 and 8 days to get from Seville to Mérida on my two previous caminos, which would get you there by around Maundy Thursday. If you're worried, it might be worth staying the previous night in Torremejía, which is only 16km from Mérida, so you'll have a good chance of getting first choice of a bed, as well as plenty of time to enjoy the astonishing glories of the city.