• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

EVEN more about soap and shampoo!

JillGat

la tierra encantada
Time of past OR future Camino
Different soaps work well or badly for different people, depending on skin type and various preferences (cleansing vs moisturizing, hard bar vs lather, scent or no scent, etc.)

Sorry to be a soap nerd/snob, but, besides being a soapmaker, my background is in clinical research and I am a restless researcher/investigator/experimenter. So here are some facts:

Dr. Bronner's is not a Castile soap, no matter what the label says. Maybe I'm just being nitpicky, but this bugs me. Castile soap, by definition uses 100% olive oil (or some say at least 80%). Castile soap was developed long ago because they had a hard time getting laurel berry oil in Europe in the old days, so the Spanish came up with Castile soap.

Olive oil isn't even the main ingredient in Dr. Bronner's soap. It also contains palm oil, that contributes to the clear-cutting of rain forest, endangering species like rhinos and orangutans. No question it smells and feels great, especially the peppermint. None of this may be practical information for the user, but I'm just sayin'.

Ivory soap is not "pure," "natural," "gentle," or "simple." It's not even really a soap (check out the label, which doesn't even call it a soap). The original version was so harsh on the skin, they had to even add a bunch of ingredients to counter-act that. Ivory soap is a detergent.

NOT to say that Dr. Bronners and Ivory don't work well for a lot of people... they obviously do, according to some accounts here.

Re. bar soap as shampoo: