• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Looking for a Group to Walk the French Way with in May 2022

mph

Time of past OR future Camino
hoping to start hike last week of may
Hello! I am a newbie with all of this. I am wanting to do the French Way starting sometime at the end of May, 2022. I would love to find a group of women to walk with. Can anyone recommend to me how to find others wanting to form a group?

Thanks
mpk

Down bag (90/10 duvet) of 700 fills with 180 g (6.34 ounces) of filling. Mummy-shaped structure, ideal when you are looking for lightness with great heating performance.

€149,-
Don’t. Be bold. Strike out on your own. Walk. After a week or two, you will come across people walking approximately your pace that you repeatedly run into. Then, and likely not before, you will find those you may want to walk with. I think that will give you a much better experience than seeking out random people beforehand, who left to normal circumstances, you would not cross paths with for more than an hour on the Camino.

Hi @mph How exciting that you are planning your first camino

Once you know your exact starting date and place you can write a brief post here (on the link below) to have one of the moderators add you to the May Calendar. As time goes by you will see other names of people planning to leave your departure point (SJPP?). May is a popular month so there will be many more people than are noted on the calendar and, for that matter, than are active on this forum

I can understand that you may feel daunted about setting off alone but on the Camino Frances there will be many many opportunities to meet and walk with others for an hour, a day, a few days etc. And to have time to yourself as well.