• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

First aid on Camino - some thoughts

Status
Not open for further replies.
Thank you Doug, you are a fellow first aider and I do understand your point of view and indeed share a lot of it. I do not brush aside the grey area that lies between the good samaritan laws and offering first aid to all, it is just that I don't think the first is connected to the second in any way. I have my St John diploma and it also gives me world-wide St John Ambulance insurance and I hope that this is enough. I only patch pilgrims up, take the pain away, clean their wounds and cover them, give them comfort. I also give them enough supplies to allow them to change dressings themselves until they reach either a pharmacy or a doctor/nurse in a surgery at the next town. I never go further than simple first aid.
There is a great need on Camino for those willing to offer first aid, we all know this, and the same goes for pastoral care. My first aid is a mission .. I am one of those pesky Christians (though a heretic of course) and believe that I am responding to the command at the end of the story of the Good Samaritan - "then go, Ye, and do likewise" and this I see as my authority. Over the last nine years or so I have met many police on the Camino and not one has asked for my documentation; all have been friendly.