• Get your Camino Frances Guidebook here.
  • For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

first time camino starting holy thursday... ! advice pleasie

whitefeathers

Hello,

I've been readimg this fabulous forum and am hoping you lovely people can help me....

I have booked my flights today and am suddenly stricken with fear that im doing this at the wrong time, that it could be dreadfully busy... ( i arrive burgos on holy thursday)

this is my first time posting, ive been lurking around a bit trying to suss out ideas and
what-not for my camino.

this will be my first time ( or atempt!) at doing the camino, i'm going for the camino frances.

I a a 24 yo female who is hoping her feet will not give up on her!! :)

as i do not have alot of time, i intend to start in burgos ( after flying in to santander)

So i have a few questions i was hoping maybe someone more experienced could shed some light on?

firstly, hopefully i will be arriving in burgos in the afternoon of holy thursday.

will i be able to get my pilgrims passport on such a date? will it be very busy there?

Also, where should i stay for my first night - will i be able to stay at an albergue
even if i have not been walking already that day?

next question: time , buses and mountains-

i would say i will proably have to take a bus for some of the way also due to time limits - im thinking
of cuting out 50 -100 km of walking. does anyone have any suggestions of where i should cut out?
if possible i would prefer to cut out some mountainous area, but i definitely want to be walking
the last 100 km!!

Albergues and money - i do not have lashings of cash, alas. am on a v tight budget as i have to save some money
fo visiting friends in malaga afterwards!