• Get your Camino Frances Guidebook here.
  • For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

First Timer Concerned with Amount of Walking per Day

AlyB

Time of past OR future Camino
Planning on walking the Camino this summer (2015)
Hello all!

I have just graduated from college in the US and want to walk the Camino as a last hurrah since I've been dreaming of doing this for many years now. I was thinking of starting in Pamplona as I've always wanted to visit that city, but I only have about 2 weeks total to make it to Santiago. Is this doable or is this crazy? I am a very athletic and physically fit 22 year-old female (I was a basketball player) and I have a fair amount of hiking experience; however, I have no idea what is the typical walking distance for an average day on the Camino. I know the exact distance will vary from person to person and day to day, but if I could just hear from a number of you what you found your typical daily distance to be and with how many hours per day of walking, that could really help me out. On paper, I would like to think that I could do 20-25 miles a day easily, but I realize that I really don't know anything about the Camino and that walking that far per day every day is a lot more easily said than done.

Thank you all so much for your help!

Down bag (90/10 duvet) of 700 fills with 180 g (6.34 ounces) of filling. Mummy-shaped structure, ideal when you are looking for lightness with great heating performance.

€149,-
Pamplona to Santiago is about 440 miles (give or take). 440 divided by 14 days of walking = 31 miles per day. Doable? Only you know the answer to that.