• Get your Camino Frances Guidebook here.
  • For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

First Timer, Tickets Booked! gear Packed, PaniC

ScottRD

Time of past OR future Camino
Plan to Walk Camino De Santiago (French Way)
Hi Everyone,

Just booked my tickets and very excited to be walking the first section of the Camino Frances (I have three 3weeks and am starting in Saint Jean Pied de Port and will just see where I end up).

I start on July 24th and have to return Mid Aug. Let me just preface everything that follows with the fact that i've never done anything like this before in my life and am not familiar with any of this stuff so please forgive my silly questions.

Anyways, I'm fairly tall (6 foot 4) and an odd size 38 waist and size 15 feet! and NOTHING ever fits me in stores so buying clothing etc is very stressful for me as it's a game of "find what you can online and GUESS if it works"

So now i'm trying to get my gear together. Please help with suggestions on certain brands or materials. I have already read many of the pack lists, just trying to figure out best options within that.

SHOES: Already decided Merrell is my only option for shoes (size 15). They make several models of shoe - anyone suggest anything? I know not to get gortex. ut i see that have several lines of shoe.

SHORTS - have been thinking about doing running/gym pants - but since i've never been a runner or a gym guy or hiker, not sure if it's better to get the ones that have the "mesh support" built in (BTW - are you supposed to wear underpants with these??) or just get regular shorts? Sorry i know, but i've never worn "tech" clothes in my life.