• Get your Camino Frances Guidebook here.
  • For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Footwear

VMalone

Time of past OR future Camino
2017 Camino Frances
Hello again,

My Camino Frances commences June 5. My hope is to do the complete camino 'to the end of the world' within 37 days. I am working now on my fitness and doing a reasonable amount of training/walking.
Having walked over 50 kms over Saturday and Sunday, in pleasant Irish conditions, I'm now wondering is my footwear correct, given that this is my first camino and I have no experience of walking for a long duration in warm temperatures.
I like good ankle support, sturdy footwear and maybe prone to blisters!. I am currently wearing boots (Brasher made now by Berghaus). They weigh 1.6 kilo in weight, leather and goretex lined and are very comfortable (a half size bigger than by usual size). I would be very grateful to hear from experienced camino walkers as to whether or not this footwear might cause me problems in the heat of June/July? If so, can you recommend appropriate UK sourced boots?

Ta very much.

Last edited:
Join our full-service guided tour and let us convert you into a Pampered Pilgrim!
Hello again,

My Camino Frances commences June 5. My hope is to do the complete camino 'to the end of the world' within 37 days. I am working now on my fitness and doing a reasonable amount of training/walking.
Having walked over 50 kms over Saturday and Sunday, in pleasant Irish conditions, I'm now wondering is my footwear correct, given that this is my first camino and I have no experience of walking for a long duration in warm temperatures.