• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

From Le Puy to santiago! A Hitchhiker that become a hiker

Barashon

Hello Everybody!! amazing forum and people you have here :)

So a little bit about myselef - My name is Gregory, I'm 22 from Israel, I have been traveling through Hitchhiking for the past 6 months from Engalnd to Vietnam and I will start doing my way back very soon to walk the Camino De Santiago.
Last March I walked the Israel national trail which is 940 KM it took two months - it's not an easy track at all and many who I met on the way failed to complete it.

Because I have only three months in Shengen Area so I'm really tight in times and I will not have much time once I'm in Europe To arrange myself much more then I already have.

I want to start at Le puy - I will hitchhike to get there, and I want to finish at Santiago de Compostela or et the sea, depends on the time, I want to do it in two months because my last month is taken :) Possible?!?!

The thing is, I need to do it as cheap as possible - like 5 euro a day, maybe less. Possible?!?!
I have a tent with me and a sleeping bag and a traveling mattress, I have a pot but I send my traveling stove home when I was in China...

I need to buy hiking shoes because mine are no longer water proof, also I need hiking poles and maybe some other small gear - Do you know a cheap traveling store around Lyon?

So what do you think is it possible to camp all the way and to ask locals to have a showers at their home, also buying food only from the supermarket? Do I need A book guide to help me go through and get lost, where do I get maps, is there a sighn that I need to follow?

I'm planning to start walking on between the 20th and the 25th of May 2011.