• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Gear needed on CF in May/June

NOLA Cajun

Time of past OR future Camino
CF, Via Francigena, C. Ingles, Finisterre/Muxia
I'm planning my first Camino from around May 12, 2016. I'll be doing Camino Frances form St. Jean. I've read a lot of comments about the gear in this forum and it has all been very enlightening. I have a lot of experience hiking, backpacking, and camping and a lot of gear but the Camino will be unique. First, this will be the longest trip by far. Secondly, it's the first time I'm going ultralight. Normally I would carry a lot of stuff just in case, and it seems unavoidable in the wilderness. On Camino, as I realized from y'all posts, I'll never be away from civilization so if I need something I can just buy it. I need to change my mindset about that.

I'll be taking my Osprey Stratos 36 that I normally used as a day pack. One thing that I still cannot figure out is what gear is absolutely necessary considering the weather from May 10 to June 15, which is roughly my time there. Specifically:
1. What kind of shoes/boots do I need? Will it be really wet and muddy this time of year? I am completely torn on this one: I hate to walk with wet feet and they will get blistered then, but on the other hand I would hate heavy, waterproof boots in hot weather. Any advice?
2. Sleeping bag? I am inclined to take the lightest 1 season bag that I can find.
3. How cold can it get in the evening and/or at higher elevations? Will a fleece jacket and a waterproof windbreaker be enough? I have a very light, non-waterproof down jacket. Will it be useful or will be too much?

Any advice will be appreciated.

The focus is on reducing the risk of failure through being well prepared. 2nd ed.