• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Getting to Biarritz

Sharonih

Time of past OR future Camino
CF (SJPdP to Santiago) March 15, 2018
I am a Canadian newbie so apologies if this is being done wrong, I am searching for the best way to get from the West coast of Canada to Biarritz. I am figuring flying to
Gatwick then from Gatwick to Biarritz, then traveling some way to SJP. Has anyone any suggestions on what is the most economical way of dong this? other than walking of course. Thanks in advance for your hints and suggestions.

St James' Way - Self-guided 4-7 day Walking Packages, Reading to Southampton, 110 kms
Air France to Biarritz airport, which is also close to Bayonne. If you buy a single ticket all the way, rather than using budget airlines for the European leg, you have a guarantee in case the first flight is late. The extra cost is not great. I have never had much success in finding budget airline routes that save much money on the trip from Vancouver to Europe. Especially in March.

From the Biarritz/Bayonne airport you can get a city bus into Bayonne, stay overnight, and get the train to SJPP. It is quite simple.

Yes definitely book entire flight including connections with same airline. From Biarritz airport it's only 25-mins by bus to Bayonne train station (leaving every half hour from outside arrivals). There are 4 trains per day to SJPP (the journey takes an hour); you can check for times on SNCF site.

3rd Edition. More content, training & pack guides avoid common mistakes, bed bugs etc
I am a Canadian newbie so apologies if this is being done wrong, I am searching for the best way to get from the West coast of Canada to Biarritz. I am figuring flying to