• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Good section for a five-day walk on the camino

Anders Bjørkheim

Time of past OR future Camino
Except for various shorter hikes in Norway and some in the US, I am not experienced at all
Hi, this is my first post here, thanks for a good forum!

I would like to walk a smaller part of the camino now as part of my vacation (hopefully walking it in full later). I am however torn as to which section and which trail to follow. Maybe someone here could help? My goal is to walk as little as possible on paved roads, but also to have access to places to stay in not too big a distance from each other.

My alternatives are either to walk the first part of the camino frances to Pamplona, to walk it for five days from Pamplona and on, or to walk the camino del norte from its starting point to San Sebastian (and maybe a little further towards Bilbao).

I am not experienced, but I am 30 and decently fit. Some changes in altitude are just a positive, although my backpack is quite heavy (9 kgs) due to backpacking up until now.

Anyone have a suggestion? Hoping for some beautiful scenery in any case!

Thanks!

A selection of Camino Jewellery
Hi Anders and welcome.

Is it necessary for you to walk a part of the Camino Frances/ Norte or are you open for other routes? In that case I can highly recommend the Camino Ingles, doable for a fit young man in five days. You will find for sure beautiful scenery and the places to stay also increased in the last year. When I walked last year in April it was a very quiet route but I hear that this year the summerperiod was rather busy.