• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Gossamer Gear backpack options

Time of past OR future Camino
Camino Primitivo
Hello!

I am walking the Camino Primitivo in September 2022 for 14 days.

I’ve done a fairly exhaustive search for a backpack that was lightweight and would easily pass carry-on regulations.

I’ve narrowed it down to Gossamer Gear backpacks and would love input on if you’ve had experience with them, which would work well, and which would be overkill.

FYI, I’ve never done a long through-hike before like the Camino, so while im hoping to travel light (try to keep it 10% of my body weight - 15 lbs), I’m not very experienced. I’m mindful of the Primitivo being unpredictable weather-wise and should plan to pack for that. I should mention that I’m also packing a small travel camera.

G4-20 Ultralight Backpack (30 L in main compartment and 12 L supposedly in exterior mesh pockets)

Gorilla 50 Ultralight backpack (32 L in main compartment and remaining 18 L supposedly from exterior pockets)

Mariposa 60 Backpack (36 L in main compartment and 24 L in exterior pockets)

Thank you for your feedback!

Last edited:
Get a spanish phone number with Airalo. eSim, so no physical SIM card. Easy to use app to add more funds if needed.