• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

health care paperwork

trinencadian

Time of past OR future Camino
April 2013
Hi all,

I know that EU citizens can get free health care in Spain if something were to happen to them along the Camino. And that non-EU people have to pay for said health care. Even though I’m Canadian, as luck would have it, I’m also an EU citizen. Is there certain paperwork I need to have with me to prove my citizenship if I end up in a clinic or hospital? Or is having my French passport good enough? Or do I not qualify for this because despite being a citizen, I'm not a resident (live in Canada)?

Thanks
-T

Get a spanish phone number with Airalo. eSim, so no physical SIM card. Easy to use app to add more funds if needed.
Hi there,

I am no expert on this... so take this with a "pinch of salt", but I was under the impression that it was the country where you had residence were you were covered by that countrys government health care.

For example I am norwegian but live in Spain. Once I had to go the the emergency room in Norway, but as a spanish resident they did not find me in the norwegian system and I had to use my Spanish health card (that I got since I am a resident here).

So for me, I always need to use my Spanish health coverage... not sure if this is the same for you, but you should check.

Greetings from Santiago,
Ivar

I am British but live in Costa Rica. I have to take out private insurance when I visit Europe. The benefits are for those citizens who actually reside in one of the EU countries. Anne