• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Hostel in Bayonne

MatteJa

Time of past OR future Camino
09/2015: Camino Francés (from Ponferrada to Finisterre)

06/2016: planning to finish the Camino Francés (from SJPDP to Ponferrada)
Hello! I have to sleep one night in Bayonne, does anyone know an hostel / hotel (possibly in the vicinity of) Bayonne train station? I am a student -- really short on cash, my budget for 1 night (1 person) would be approx. 30euro? The less, the better :p.

Thank you very much!! :=)))))

Get a spanish phone number with Airalo. eSim, so no physical SIM card. Easy to use app to add more funds if needed.
There is a hotel over a cafe, down the road to the left as you exit the train station. Shared baths. I don't remember the price but it wasn't awful.

There used to be a private pilgrims place, across the river, and across the canal, in the old town towards the cathedral. I forget the address and it was unmarked but I was directed there by the tourist office, which had called ahead for me. It's a bed in the loft of an apartment, with bathroom. She had capacity for maybe half a dozen people. She does meals too.

I paid €38 at the Ibis Budget in Anglet, 20 min bus from Bayonne Gare. It is walkable from the airport if anyone is flying in

Get a spanish phone number with Airalo. eSim, so no physical SIM card. Easy to use app to add more funds if needed.
Thank you @long trails ! 38euro is a bit off the budget for me but I really have no clue about the prices in Bayonne (or even France haha). I will write down the name of the hotel you kindly provided me, if I don't find a cheaper accomodation.

Thanks!!.