• Get your Camino Frances Guidebook here.
  • For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

How Dangerous are the Pyrenees?

GerryDel

Time of past OR future Camino
Camino Frances, July 2014
This is kind of an offshoot of another thread where someone mentioned that backpacks can be dangerous when going over the Pyrenees. I'm wondering just how dangerous the Pyrenees are. I assumed it was a fairly well established trail with minimal danger. I have some experience in hiking hills and mountains, such as the Half Dome at Yosemite and Harney Peak in South Dakota. Where would it rank in comparison to those? I am especially asking in regards to mid July travel. I know people can die on any high trail if they get lost or are in bad weather, but on a relatively nice weather day, how dangerous would it be? I'm taking my son, who is 16. Would it be too dangerous for him? I took my oldest son, who was 13 at the time to both the Half Dome and Harney Peak and had no major issues.

The 9th edition the Lightfoot Guide will let you complete the journey your way.
Hi,

I can't compare your US tracks but the SJPdP route is as you say on well marked, well defined trail with no ridge walking or climbing necessary.

Sticking to the track the danger is minimal. Of course mountain weather in most parts of the world is very changeble and in bad weather walkers can lose the trail and potentially get into trouble.

You sound like an experienced man who I suspect would listen to local weather warnings and not take risks.

Absolutely, we won't walk if there's the danger of bad weather.

St James' Way - Self-guided 4-7 day Walking Packages, Reading to Southampton, 110 kms