• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

How to get to Aire sur le Adour?

amancio

Veteran Member
Time of past OR future Camino
Frances, Norte, Primit, Salvador, Portug, Arag, Ingles, VdlP, Leban-Vadin, Fisterra, Invierno, LePuy
Hola!

I am currently studying my first incursion into France, for a week or so, in the Via Podiensis.

I thought Aire sur le Adour would be a good starting point. Anybody has any suggestion about how to get there best? I was thinking about taking the train to Irun, then try to find some combination to make it to Aire sur le Adour.

Good news is, it does NOT HAVE to be Aire sur le Adour, I could also consider other similar nearby starting points if they are easier to reach from Spain.

Thanks for your help!

New Original Camino Gear Designed Especially with The Modern Peregrino In Mind!
Thanks, Falcon! The only problem seems to be I might have only 10 minutes to change from train to bus in Pau... the TArbes option gives me more time, but only on Fridays. Not the easiest place to reach! Would there be another place that is easier to reach from Hendaye?

Technical backpack for day trips with backpack cover and internal compartment for the hydration bladder. Ideal daypack for excursions where we need a medium capacity backpack. The back with Air Flow System creates large air channels that will keep our back as cool as possible.

€83,-
There is no easy way to get to Aire sur l'Adour from anywhere, following the closure of the railway line Agen-Pau many years ago. I did it in reverse with a bus to Mont de Marsan and (just timed to miss the connection) a two-hour wait for a train to Bordeaux and then to Bordeaux airport.