• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

How to survive the Camino de Santiago

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jilksy

Time of past OR future Camino
Frances 2012
Portugues 2013
du Puy 2014
du Puy 2015
del Norte 2016
Frances 2018
Portugues 2019
Dear Pilgrim Friends.

I'm not sure if I'm allowed to post this here, so (moderator) feel free to move or redirect if this is the case.

I have recently written a preparation guide to the Camino. It is a complete beginners guide which is to be used to complement your Brierley guide (or book of choice).

I have walked many miles on the Camino and plan to walk many more. My love for it has grown and grown with every Camino and I've been spreading the joy amongst UK friends and family ever since I took that first step. In fact, if anyone starts me off talking about it, I can't stop. I thought I may as well write down all my advice and tips and see if it would be any use to anyone. I really wanted to write something that wasn't patronising and gave a real insight into a typical day of a pilgrim. It is not intended to be used in isolation, but I hope it may at least help settle the nerves of a new pilgrim. If you know anyone who is thinking of setting off on their first Camino, this might be the book for them. It is mainly geared towards the Camino Francés and staying in albergues but covers other routes too. The link is below.

Conquer the Camino - How to Survive the Camino de Santiago by Alison Jilks
https://www.amazon.co.uk/s?k=alison+jilks&ref=nb_sb_noss_2&tag=&tag=casaivar-21

Currently only on Kindle.

Many thanks for reading this.

Alison.

New Original Camino Gear Designed Especially with The Modern Peregrino In Mind!
Hi @Jilksy

I enjoyed reading the free portion of your book and it seemed to offer sound information to the prospective pilgrim.