• Update: The images and attachemnets are now back, we are generating new thumbnails.... (this takes time with 20 years of photos). I know the notification icon gives an error. That error should be gone within an hour or two. Sorry again! Ivar
  • For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

I got blisters...

LesBrass

Likes Walking
Time of past OR future Camino
yes...
Hello folks

I'm guessing most folks know that I've just finished my camino... some of you will also know that I got blisters. I thought some may find it useful to learn how I dealt with them... I'm no expert so this is just my findings.

Firstly I found so much good advice here... second I found this brilliant website http://www.blisterprevention.com.au/the-advanced-guide-to-blister-prevention#.VEwJFhbtiJU
third... I tried a range of methods until i found what worked for me... and I think trial and error is really important.

1. Make sure your boots fit!

My boots were too narrow. I had jitters before I left and I should have trusted my instinct and changed. I also made the mistake of buying boots that were too big in the early days of training too. There is a lot of advice that says buy shoes bigger but be careful you dont go too big.

I was lucky in that I was able to buy a new pair of shoes in Estella and they worked a treat. I met another guy that struggled to find a replacement and I have no idea if he was able to continue.

2. Get the right socks.

I think this is all down to personal preference and the fit of your boot. I tried with 5 different socks before I found the right combination. I also played with the combination during my walk as the heat of the mesata cause my feet to swell and the rain in galicia caused them to shrink.