• Get your Camino Frances Guidebook here.
  • For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

I think I’m ready, but I have a couple of questions...

JohnLloyd

Veteran Member
Time of past OR future Camino
Francés (2018), Português (2019), Inglés (2022)
Hello all

Firstly, thank you all for being part of a rare thing - an online community that seems to be made up almost entirely of positive and life-affirming people. I’m an admin for a 7k Facebook group and we could learn a few lessons from here.

It’s my first Camino and so I’m grateful for all the fantastic resources available here - the stage profiles, the albergue guides, the packing lists and so on. Amazing - they’re all downloaded and made available offline too.

My Facebook group is often plastered with repetitive messages on the same topics and questions, so I’ve done my best to try and research my own queries, but there are a few that could do with additional wisdom and suggestions from you lovely people.

So, with your forbearance, here I go.

Is St Jean Pied de Port to Roncesvalles actually the toughest of all the stages?
Or is it much later on, when Alto de Poio appears? Or somewhere else?

I’m starting on August 23rd and I am thinking a sleeping bag may be too warm for me - a sheet sack/bag to provide a defence against bedbugs should be enough. Do you agree?

Is Compeed more or less effective than toe tape or blister pads? Or are all three recommended?

Is there a particular mobile app that might augment my Brierley?

Do the albergues generally have enough plug sockets to help keep the phone charged up?

Finally, I think I can get everything I read is required into this backpack, rather than a rucksack.

Am I being too reductionist?