• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Ipad on the Camino

Status
Not open for further replies.

pattymo97206

Time of past OR future Camino
Walked 360km (2012) Planning 790K May (2014)
I'm thinking about taking an iPad on the Camino to post on a blog while walking next year. I have no experience with iPads...will a 16g be sufficient? I'm looking particularily at the iPad mini. My smartphone is not an international phone, so that will not do me any good. Has anyone rented a smartphone from VodaPhone while in Spain. I've a small basic cell phone I bought last year in Spain and am planning on taking that again. Thoughts? Suggestions? Advice? Thank you in advance for your input. Patty

St James' Way - Self-guided 4-7 day Walking Packages, Reading to Southampton, 110 kms
Your iPad should be fine. There are many places along the Way that offer free wi-fi (by the way, it's pronounced wee-fee in Spain)

As far as a phone, last year I took my old iPhone and bought a SIM card for it at Vodafone.
My walking partner bought a cheap phone from them and a SIM.
Both of us were very very happy with Vodafone.

I think for the entire trip, I didn't spend more than 30 euros.

A tip, however.
If you buy minutes at a tobacco shop (or anywhere besides Vodafone) be SURE before you walk out the door that your minutes have been applied. It's easy to check. Last year, I paid 20 Euros to up my minutes, got a ways up the trail, and the lady had NOT applied the minutes! This is probably rare, but I always check now.

Oh duh... I just re-read your message. I have no idea about renting a smartphone from Vodafone. His simply did calls and texts. You might look into getting an unlocked old iPhone on craigslist or ebay and just buying the SIM in Spain?

Hi Patty,