• Get your Camino Frances Guidebook here.
  • For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Is the French Way paved?

Sofie

Time of past OR future Camino
Planning on walking the Camino this summer
Hi,

This is my first time going on the Camino, and first time posting in this forum.

I am planning on going the French way, and are having problems finding the right shoes.
There are big differences between shoes made for paved roads, terrain and gravel.

So therefore I am asking you guys :
Is the French way composed of mainly paved roads, gravel or pathes in the terrain?

I hope some of you can help me here, I'm planning on leaving for Spain 12th of June, and I have to "walk my shoes in" as we say in Norway.

Sofie :)

Technical backpack for day trips with backpack cover and internal compartment for the hydration bladder. Ideal daypack for excursions where we need a medium capacity backpack. The back with Air Flow System creates large air channels that will keep our back as cool as possible.

€83,-
Transport luggage-passengers.
From airports to SJPP
Luggage from SJPP to Roncevalles
Thank you for your answer :)
It's so difficult deciding, because these shoes is the ones I will be stuck with for the rest of the trip, therefore I need imput ;)

The one from Galicia (the round) and the one from Castilla & Leon. Individually numbered and made by the same people that make the ones you see on your walk.